- President: Charlie Ahern

Coronado Optimist Youth Affiliates increased to 100 members, including a new Alpha club in Village Elementary. The CHS Octagon Club was awarded National Club Status by Optimist International and Victoria Meek was elected to the International Board. Don Crawford again arranged a splendid Sports Fiesta, with 400 athletes; and Carla Fargo raised $45,000 for the youth fund. Coronado Optimists funded 55 Programs and 5 Scholarships for the youth of Coronado, including the first annual Winn Foster Memorial Scholarship. Breakfast Meeting attendance featured outstanding programming by Michael Napolitano and grew to 80 members. Mark Blumenthal chaired an important new Optimist Strategic Planning Committee. Past Lt. Gov. Alan Aegerter was awarded Lifetime Membership and Laura Lynn Meek was named Optimist of the Year. Year end Membership: 142.