- President: Casey Reynolds

Boy orator won district contest, $1,500 scholarship. February concert and Sports Fiesta highly successful, both in participation and fund-raising! Jan Sheffer inducted as first female member. Buck Rogers served as District Governor. Jake Sloan served as Zone 5 Lieutenant Governor, elected to serve as 1989-90 District Governor. Wynn Foster and team built new Optimist club in National City. Awards: Distinguished President; Honor Club; District Best Scrapbook and Best Club Bulletin. Optimist of the Year: Bob Sheridan. Year end membership: 132.