Photo (L-R) Optimist President Dick Madouse receives President’s Pin from Immediate Past President Irish Flynn

In 1970 at the La Avenida Restaurant, twenty-five charter members founded the club that has developed into one of the premier clubs within Optimist International. Leadership and participation at all levels within the club has been the hallmark of the Coronado Optimists. The beneficiaries have been the youth of Coronado — students at all of the schools in our village, a variety of youth organizations and individual students who have asked and received assistance for specific individual projects.

Richard ‘Dick’ Madouse is the 42nd President of the club and will serve in that capacity from October 1, 2011 to September 30, 2012. His leadership team includes; Irish Flynn- Immediate Past President, Charlie Ahern– President Elect, Vice Presidents Mark Blumenthal and Jennifer Landry, Directors Lyndsey Arendsee, Clint Coneway, Dennis Dorman, Ted Khrone, Mike Napolitano,  Bernie Roeder, Secretary Charles Helsper, and Treasurer Brennan Hovland.

One of the Optimists’ annual highlights is the selection of two individuals to receive very special awards: the Optimist of the Year and Life Member Awards. The two Optimists who received the awards this year are: Don Crawford, Optimist of the Year; and Jack Larison, Life Member. Their contributions to the club and commitment to the Optimist Creed are evident in all they do.

The Optimists salute the leaders and award-winners, thank them for their willingness to serve the club and the youth of Coronado. Each is indeed a ‘Friend of Youth’, the Optimist Motto.